Charlene Fagan-Canadian Small Business Woman of the Month of February 2013

charlene

CHARLENE FAGAN
Coordinator and Creator of Phenomenal Woman Show – Get Into Your Power Tour
Owner of Charlene’s Closet
Professor at Sheridan College Institute of Technology and Higher Learning

Charlene Fagan is Jamaican born and currently resides in Ontario Canada. A professor of Human Relations and Sociology at The Sheridan Institute of Technology and Higher Learning, Charlene prides herself in being a strong woman and a mentor for her students and many of her peers. Her passion is to empower women and this she does through her motivational and empowerment workshops and seminars. For over 10 years, Charlene has been facilitating seminars for various small and large businesses, church groups, and social service organizations in Jamaica and Canada. She is also the owner of a women’s’ clothing and bridal boutique in Ontario Canada.

Fagan grew up in Jamaica, and after graduating from Merl Grove High School she attended university in Florida and completed her education to the Master’s degree level. Fagan returned to Jamaica where she tried to resettle, but found it difficult to realise her dreams. “I came home and tried to find a niche here in Jamaica. I found myself doing many things and none of them fed my spirit. Some of these things included entrepreneurial pursuits that all failed,” Fagan said.

During this time, Fagan got married and started a family, and along with her husband built a nice home in Hellshire, Jamaica. However, the restlessness continued and after one year of vacillating, Fagan opted to migrate to Canada in 2002. There, she faced many challenges. However, she dared herself and succeeded at doing many things.

After surviving her own journey, which she considers an arduous one, Charlene wants to include other women in her pursuit of self discovering and transformation. She dared herself to do something that would empower her and others as well. The Phenomenal Woman tour event is her brainchild and her enthusiasm for this mission is evident in her quest to make it a much greater event each year. Charlene thought that women should be celebrated and therefore, this event is her way of affirming and applauding them for their strength and tenacity.

You can see Charlene at this year’s Phenomenal Women in Power Event being held on March 24th, 2013 at the Joshua Creek Heritage Centre in Oakville, Ontario. For tickets and further information: info@phenomenalwomaninpower.com or charlenescloset@yahoo.com or 647-208-4972

Q & A

What inspires you?

I am inspired by creativity and I am especially encouraged when I observe how people achieve fulfillment from their “Life’s work”…I love to hear the stories of others who have triumphed over adversities as their stories often resonate with me and give me the drive to keep on pushing.

As a small business owner, what achievements make you most proud?

I am proud of the fact that I have dared myself to start a few of my own businesses…Though I have not been successful at them all as  the lessons did not come cheap, I am happy that I have venture  out to see many of my dreams come to fruition.

What advice would you give to other aspiring small business owners?

I would say think first if what you are doing is something you love as a business effort or if it is simply a hobby. Look carefully to ensure that it is a lucrative business idea. Then go ahead and take the risk. If you do not take calculated risks you will never know what possibly lies ahead. Seek advice from experts and never allow fear to overcome your dream.

What new things can we look forward to from your business in the upcoming year?

I look forward to a minor revamping of some aspects of my current business products and incorporate some creative ideas of which I am currently working on. I hope to increase my electronic visibility and of course develop a stronger client base

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

