Courage Is A Trait We Grow Into

anna

The definition of Courage is the ability and willingness to confront fearpaindangeruncertainty, or intimidationPhysical courage is courage in the face of physical pain, hardship, death, or threat of death, while moral courage is the ability to act rightly in the face of popular opposition, shamescandal, or discouragement.

Such an emotional definition to a part of our being that is so deep within us.  I think back on my life and remember times when I felt I could have been more resourceful or brave in sticking to my wants, needs and ideals.  And as I reflect I notice that I did the best I could with what I knew about myself and the situation at that moment in time.

I believe that there are great levels of courage.  Do you remember the time in school where the bully was picking on someone and you could have said something but didn’t because we were too afraid in that moment?  Were you really afraid or was it that you didn’t know what you could do? At the age of 10 or 12 we knew right from wrong.  Now our more complex brain (our unconscious mind) has influences on our thoughts as well and they are even more powerful.

It is our unconscious that sizes up the situations we are faced with in seconds.  Our wondrous mind looks at the situations and as in the case of the bully asks and responds faster than the speed of light at its own questions.

The questions start:

Should I let this person do this to someone else?

Why isn’t anyone else jumping in?

Am I big enough to help?

What if I am not and no one jumps in to help me?

Will I be able to ever get away from this bully again?

All these questions and more run through and are answered instantaneously.

 

So, let move back to my first thought and that is that courage is a trait that grows as we grow.  The more information and experiences we are introduced to, the more able we are to respond to difficult situations.  We are just people doing the all we can in the best of moments and in the difficult times. Never doubt your courage and trust your instincts.  Your courage is directly connected to that very wholesome part of yourself.

Anna Ottaviani is a Board Certified NLP Master Practitioner & Master Coach, Board Certified Master Hypnotherapist,Creating Your Future® , Time Line® Therapist Practitioner and Reiki Master. Her methods are unique and tailored to each individual client. She can be reached at www.sucessfullyyou.ca or by phone at 289-221-5772. You can follow her on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/successfullyyou?ref=ts&fref=ts

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

