Judene McCalla: Canadian Small Business Woman of the Month of May 2016

Judene2

As a graduate of the University of Windsor, I received my Bachelor’s degree in Criminology. Although my career extends to social science, my desire to launch my own business began after I designed my friend’s invitations and accessories for her wedding in 2005.

Eventually, I started to get request from other friends and relatives, to design invitation for their events.

Each item I create is custom designed and handmade from start to finish. A great man once said, “The proof of value is where you invest your time.” I am as passionate about your celebration as you are.

 

Whether you are looking for invitations for an elegant wedding, graduation, birthday, corporate events, engagements or wedding announcements, baby’s arrival, or relocating, I will create a package reflects your style, personality and budget.

 

Our Q & A with Judene:

*What inspires you?
I am inspired by my surroundings, anything can beautiful and can inspire me from shapes to colours and even smells.
I love reading; it gives me a chance to escape into other worlds.  I’m also inspired by the great outdoors.  I love documenting nature through my passion for photography.  And of course, you may expect that as an invitation designer, I am inspired by topography: I have not yet met a font that I do not want to own!
*As a small business owner, what achievements make you most proud?
I am very proud to be able to help my clients begin their events with fun, stylish custom invitations. I am the founder and principal designer of a successful award-winning invitation studio specializing in delightfully beautiful, customized, handmade designs. For the last three years, we have been voted “Most Popular Invitation Designer, Worldwide” by Wedding Industry Expert Awards.   
*What advice would you give to other aspiring small business owners?

I have learned so much in this journey of owning my business and I have three pieces of advice for aspiring small business owners. One, don’t expect to start making a profit overnight. It’s not a sprint, it’s a marathon. Invest in your business and you will see results. Two, clearly define your goals so you can measure your progress. And third, love what you do, and enjoy all of your accomplishments.

Finally, In this day and age of social media, do not compare your achievement anyone else, you are unique and different, celebrate you! 

*What new things can we look forward to from your business in the upcoming year?
We are constantly thinking outside the box and creating new designs. In September we will be introducing our new invitation collection. The collection includes box invitations and lasercut designs. Glitter is a huge trend in the wedding industry right now so we will be showcasing how couples can incorporate the shine and pizzazz into their wedding day.
Connect with Judene: Website, Facebook, Pinterest, Twitter
Leave a Reply

